A new worksheet on travelling, reading and books!

Publishing a new material to be used in class if you are planning a speaking&reading lesson on travelling, travel experiences, guide books or simply books! The worksheets based on Bill Bryson’s book “Neither here, nor there” include 2 book reviews and an authentic reading exercise with an element of jigsaw reading, as well as a lot of speaking. Good for group work, but can also be used for a one-to-one speaking&reading class.

Here is a short story:

About a month ago I started working with a new student, who as I found out at our first lesson was much more advanced than I could possibly expect from what she had told me on the phone. Anyway, after that I started looking for different ways of using authentic materials and doing something not-so-trivial at higher levels, as she obviously had had a lot of different learning experience and was hard to surprise.

At the first lesson we started talking about living in different cities and worked with a text from Global Upper-intermediate about the world capitals, so I was looking for something to do with travelling experiences, cultures, etc.

And then I remembered a great book by Bill Bryson, “Neither here nor there”. It’s funny, full of good language and amazing experiences he had during his Europe journeys.

I started re-reading it and honestly, I couldn’t stop. It is so hard to choose the best bit out of this treasure! So I opted for the very beginning, where the author describes his way to Hammerfest to see the Northern Lights.

You are welcome to download the materials here, and I will be happy to get your feedback!

Bill Bryson reading

Bill Bryson TEacher’s notes

About Svetlana Urisman (Englishteachingnotes)

I am an ADOS and an English teacher (and materials writer) in a language school in Moscow. I have been an ADOS and a teacher trainer for almost a year now and a teacher for about 5 years. I am keen to share some ideas and materials I've developed in order to take them further and not to forget or lose them You are welcome to use any materials represented in this blog, and I will be happy to get your feedback afterwards if you take them to your classroom! ;-)
Aside | This entry was posted in authentic materials, lesson plans, teaching higher levels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new worksheet on travelling, reading and books!

  1. Thanks for sharing this. You got me engaged reading and surfing your blog! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

