a highly flexible activity

Here is one more easily adaptable game you can use with any level depending on its contents. I used it for the first time with an elementary group where we worked with international express elementary. I wanted my students to see how much they’ve learned during the course and to check what they remembered. By this time we’ve already gone through all the activities this and other books offered, and moreover, I wanted the activity to be as tailored for MY students and OUR course as possible. So I decided to create the game myself. And no, I didn’t have much time. But I had a lot of differently shaped and coloured post-its.

You can actually include any type of tasks here, mixing grammar and vocabulary: ask to read 5 difficult words correctly, to talk about their family, to translate the sentence, to ask their partner 3 questions, to explain the difference between something and something else, to remember 5 cities mentioned in the text they read at home, create a story using given words/collocations, to make a dialogue, to describe a picture, to find out the weather forecast, to give a synonym, to list 15 words about appearance, to remember phrases for introductions, to change the parts of speech, to correct some incorrect sentences, etc. The list could be continued forever.

The process of actually preparing the game is fun, creative and quite quick:

take different post-its, write different tasks there and stick it onto a sheet of paper or a board, or a wall, or somewhere else. And ask your students to carry out the tasks, that’s it!

p.s. I am going to find the last version of the game I used and show just a little later.

About Svetlana Urisman (Englishteachingnotes)

I am an ADOS and an English teacher (and materials writer) in a language school in Moscow. I have been an ADOS and a teacher trainer for almost a year now and a teacher for about 5 years. I am keen to share some ideas and materials I've developed in order to take them further and not to forget or lose them You are welcome to use any materials represented in this blog, and I will be happy to get your feedback afterwards if you take them to your classroom! ;-)
This entry was posted in Business English, grammar, grammar games, intermediate, lesson plans, teaching higher levels, teaching lower levels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

