BESIG impressions

thanks to the miracle of modern technologies I spent my Saturday sitting at the veranda in the country with my baby around, watching the first online BESIG conference (wchich, in its turn, united people being in different parts of the world: Germany, Poland, Uruguay, Peru etc),.The experience was highly inspiring for me, as it was, I am sure, for all the other participants.

As my baby is around, I am not sure I am going to have enough time to write a consistent report on the sessons I had a chance to “attend”, so I thought I’d just stick to sharing some links and very brief comments (on the things I’d like to remember for future usage and reference).

From what I got to see, the most valuable for me were probably: the plenary with Evan Frendo (the keywords were scrum meetings, discourse communities, community of practice, discourse flow, intertextuality, Enron email corpora), the talk by Ros Wright, whose book on writing ESP materials i’m reading now, and the talk on 10 most typical mistakes people make when writing business English materials by John Hughes, which felt like a real revelation to me and was very practical. There was also a highly enjoyable workshop by Nick Michelioudakis was full of great commercials

(one by Huggies, “soft nappy, hard day”; the other about dog’s life and household chores, and the last one, by BMW, about beauty vs brains – brilliant, though I knew it before. To find these and some others, google for “ads for elt” on youtube)

and very creative ways of working with them.

There was also a very promising plenary by Vicky Hollet on using video, but things went a bit wrong at that moment, so I managed to see just a small part of it. Still hoping to download and watch it again!

  1. how to create infographics. Inforgraphics seem to be a motivating tool for some speaking/ writing activities, so I’ll give it a try! http://adirajan.wordpress.com/2013/05/19/how-to-create-your-own-elt-infographic/ and
  2. a wordpress blog by John Hughes, I already follow it http://elteachertrainer.com/
  3. an innovative English materials platform, a brainchild of Jeremy Day and the others, Jeremy presented it in the context of “self-publishing: a quiet revolution in ELT” http://www.english360.com/
  4. Vicky Hollet you tube channel, containing 1-minute English video, video on confusing words and a lot of other great things http://www.youtube.com/user/vickihollettvideo?feature=watch
  5. http://corpus.byu.edu/bnc/ british national corpora
  6. the upcoming webinars from IATEFL, the next is going to represent Penny Ur!  http://www.iatefl.org/membership-information/iatefl-webinars
  7. a book to take a look at: “Needs analysis for language course design” (Cambridge)
    some points: Gathering evidence, gathering of examples using language, (!) differences between a presentation at work and a presentation at a training.
About Svetlana Urisman (Englishteachingnotes)

I am an ADOS and an English teacher (and materials writer) in a language school in Moscow. I have been an ADOS and a teacher trainer for almost a year now and a teacher for about 5 years. I am keen to share some ideas and materials I've developed in order to take them further and not to forget or lose them You are welcome to use any materials represented in this blog, and I will be happy to get your feedback afterwards if you take them to your classroom! ;-)
This entry was posted in useful links and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

