an activity on sharing positive impressions

have been working on it for more than a week, and here it is – a vocabulary activity on how to give positive feedback about books, movies, rerstaurants and trips.

It is based on authentic reviews and lets your students practise the new (or just long forgotten and unused) vocabulary  in a number of ways. It is then finished off with a personalised task. As in real life there are lot of situations we share our imoressions after we’ve read a book, visited a restaurant, etc, I guess the worksheet can be suitable for almost any kind of intermediate+ group or individual student at different times during a course, and combined with different vocabulary topics…

I decided to focus on positive language, though I am probably going to write one on negative impressions as well. But, as I was working with good emotions, writing the worksheet became quite an enjoyable experience for me too 🙂

I’m loving it – an activity on positive impressions

key positive impressions

a couple of technical notes on the worksheet:

I haven’t written the Teacher’s notes, as the task sheet (page 1) puts it pretty clearly.  So, there is just the worksheet itself (pp. 2 and 3) + task sheet + the key. I decided to put the whole reviews into the keys and not just 1b, 2c, 3h, as it seemed to me far more sensible to let the students check themselves using the context.

Please share your feedback if you decide to take it to your class, I really wish to know how it all worked out for you!

About Svetlana Urisman (Englishteachingnotes)

I am an ADOS and an English teacher (and materials writer) in a language school in Moscow. I have been an ADOS and a teacher trainer for almost a year now and a teacher for about 5 years. I am keen to share some ideas and materials I've developed in order to take them further and not to forget or lose them You are welcome to use any materials represented in this blog, and I will be happy to get your feedback afterwards if you take them to your classroom! ;-)
This entry was posted in authentic materials, intermediate, lesson plans, teaching higher levels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to an activity on sharing positive impressions

  1. Pingback: the activity on positive impressions, reviewed | TeachingEnglishNotes

Leave a Reply

