What to do at a first class?

I love new beginnings, and you?

Today is the last summer day, and a lot of new classes and courses are starting on September 1st. All these lessons are the chances of the new beginnings.

There are actually 2 kinds of things you can do at your first class: talk about the past (in case you are meeting your students after a break) and talk about the future (works well both for you new and “old” students).

The future tasks could be anything to do with needs analysis and the learning plans:

(I usually prefer to put the phrases onto Post-its and just ask the students to comment on them):

This year I’d like to focus on … (English grammar, reading, time management)

By this time next year I hope to be able to (take part in negotiations in English, travel as much as I want, etc)

To focus on the English course aims you can use this questionnaire:

need analysis quest

The past tasks:

The best point of my vacation/ the most fabulous thing about my holiday was…(seeing the volcano, getting married, white water kayaking, etc)

I was very lucky to (see the Northern Lights, to talk to a native English speaker, etc)

I wish I had more time to…(stay at that island, spend with my family, read in English…)

During the break I learned to… (cook sushi, drive, dance sirtaki)

As for my English,.. (I used it a lot when I was travelling/ unfortunately I forgot it/ etc…)

About Svetlana Urisman (Englishteachingnotes)

I am an ADOS and an English teacher (and materials writer) in a language school in Moscow. I have been an ADOS and a teacher trainer for almost a year now and a teacher for about 5 years. I am keen to share some ideas and materials I've developed in order to take them further and not to forget or lose them You are welcome to use any materials represented in this blog, and I will be happy to get your feedback afterwards if you take them to your classroom! ;-)
This entry was posted in lesson plans, lesson starters, materials writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

