business&office buzzwords: article and worksheet

Last year I came across a real gem of an article – at least it looks like one from an ESL teacher’s perspective. I am sure it was not the use the author of the article had in mind, but it still worked perfectly for me and some of my students (the ones studying business English) , so I decided to share. The article was published in December on my favourite Mind Tools site

The worksheet based on the article introduces us to some terribly overused buzzwords (or buzzphrases? idioms), lets us see how they can be used in a natural context, and then finishes with a speaking task that lets the students try the new vocab items out in their talk.

Here is the article along with some discussion questions:

lingo

and here is the second worksheet, which asks students match the idioms to the right definitions:

buzzwords match

As so far I’ve only tried it in one-to-one situatio, I asked my students to think of talk they might make up using as many idioms as possible.

If you work with groups, I guess playing buzzwords bingo would be just the thing.

Oh, and if you decide to take it to your classroom, please tell me how it went down!

About Svetlana Urisman (Englishteachingnotes)

I am an ADOS and an English teacher (and materials writer) in a language school in Moscow. I have been an ADOS and a teacher trainer for almost a year now and a teacher for about 5 years. I am keen to share some ideas and materials I've developed in order to take them further and not to forget or lose them You are welcome to use any materials represented in this blog, and I will be happy to get your feedback afterwards if you take them to your classroom! ;-)
This entry was posted in authentic materials, Business English, teaching higher levels, useful links and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

