Used to and other patterns – rethought and put into practice

screenshot used to

In the morning today I had a chance to see how my substitution table from the previous post worked. I knew my student would still be struggling with all the 4 patters (get used to, be used to, used to, would) from his e-mailed homework, so before we actually started working with the table, I suggessted doing some preparation work.

So first I just showed and read him a couple of examples about me, featuring all the 4 patterns used in context (see the picture)

Then, based on my examples, he could match the patterns with their Russian equivalents (I felt translation was vital here, otherwise it seemed impossible to stop my student from confusing the meaning of all the 4 ones) . It was not very easy, but with looking back at my examples and a little help, he managed to do that, so I dragged the right translations to the respective patterns and left it on the screen as a kind of reference. I also asked him to make a sentence for each of the pattern, so he produced smth quite close to my phrases.

The next thing was to look at some of the patterns in (authentic) context, so we moved to the next square on the board (pink one). featuring the results of my brief Googling:

“it takes getting used to”
Get Used to It (Brand New Heavies album)
“I’m Getting Used to You” – a song by Selena from the album “dreaming of you”
23 Things Parents Used To Do That Would Get Major Side-Eye Today
Getting used to the Cyrillic alphabet is nothing to be worried about

He read the headings and together we made sure he understood what was meant in each of them and what they could be about.

Only after that (it took about 20 mins) did we move to the table itself. And it worked pretty well (although I am not sure it would do without all the preparation and clarifying. It involved a welcome repetition element, as first he matched the sentences, and then he had to repeat (and rethink) the sentences again when he was expanding on each of them to think who could say that and in what context.

My student told me he felt much better about the patterns by the end of the lesson, and I hope it will be like that by our next class.

About Svetlana Urisman (Englishteachingnotes)

I am an ADOS and an English teacher (and materials writer) in a language school in Moscow. I have been an ADOS and a teacher trainer for almost a year now and a teacher for about 5 years. I am keen to share some ideas and materials I've developed in order to take them further and not to forget or lose them You are welcome to use any materials represented in this blog, and I will be happy to get your feedback afterwards if you take them to your classroom! ;-)
This entry was posted in authentic materials, grammar, grammar games, teaching higher levels, vocabulary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

