using famous songs to revise tenses: thanks, U2, Beatles and others

Do you often get students who is really confused about tenses? “I living in a big city”, “they speaks Spanish” and even “he is has been …”. oh and… “future? how do I make future? ” I am sure you’ve been there too)

So I’ve been thinking about one more way to revise, refresh and structure the tenses quickly and in a fun way, and surely songs are just a great way to do that. As I needed to cover very basic tenses mostly (with one of my students who is struggling to get his head around all this “grammar” and to be honest is not a very “grammar person” at all – he just wants to speak, and grammar is not important. You’ve heard that too, right?)

Songs were a good choice because he likes music (and who doesn’t?) and lines from songs are usually very memorable, so it wouldn’t be too hard to recall a cliched phrase like “I will survive” and then make another sentence using that model, like “Ok, I will call you” . But I couldn’t use just one song, because even if I found something covering Present Simple, Present Continuous, Past Simple, Present Perfect and Future Simple, it would be too hard for him to get it – his level can be assessed as pre-int low. So all this didn’t leave me much choice and I decided just to crop several songs that everyone knows – for the benefit of English Grammar 🙂

What I came up with is a 1:47 min file containing 8 song extracts (from Gloria Gaynor, U2, Beatles, Susan Vega, Queen etc) and a simple worksheet to go with it(taking into consideration that that student of mine needed smth really easy to grasp). I just asked him to listen to the extracts, complete the gaps in the song lines, match them to the right grammar tense, and then make his own examples (positive, negative, question) for each of the tenses. I am sure the task might be much more profound, but I decided not to make it too complicated and proved to be right. It worked pretty well for him and helped to structure the tenses and to revise the forms. Although I can’t say his tenses are immaculate now 🙂 , this was at least one of the steps to make him just a little more confident in using them.

Here are the mp3 and .doc files, hope you’ll find them useful too:)

grammar song mix English

UPD> Can’t think of a way to upload an MP3 file here, so if you need it, pls let me know and I’ll mail it to you. Alternatively, please teach me how to upload it here))))

About Svetlana Urisman (Englishteachingnotes)

I am an ADOS and an English teacher (and materials writer) in a language school in Moscow. I have been an ADOS and a teacher trainer for almost a year now and a teacher for about 5 years. I am keen to share some ideas and materials I've developed in order to take them further and not to forget or lose them You are welcome to use any materials represented in this blog, and I will be happy to get your feedback afterwards if you take them to your classroom! ;-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

